The GSMA’s Government Excellence Awards recognise national governments that demonstrate world-class leadership in telecommunications regulatory policy and practice. Submissions for 2019 are now closed and the judging has commenced.

Government Leadership Award

About this Category

The GSMA’s Government Leadership Award recognises world-class leadership in the establishment of sound telecommunications regulatory policies, based on clear principles that encourage private investment, such as transparency, free and fair competition, and regulatory independence.

The 2019 winner will be announced at the GLOMO Award Ceremony on Tuesday 26 February at MWC Barcelona.

Past Winners:
2018: The Republic of Estonia
2017: The Islamic Republic of Pakistan
2016: The United Mexican States
2015: The Federative Republic of Brazil
2014: The Republic of Botswana
2013: not awarded
2012: The Republic of Colombia
2011: The Islamic Republic of Afghanistan
2010: The Republic of Kenya
2009: The French Republic
2008: The Arab Republic of Egypt
2007: The Republic of India
2006: The Islamic Republic of Pakistan
2005: The Federative Republic of Brazil

Chairman’s Award for Government Innovation in an Emerging Market

About this Category

The GSMA Chairman will give a discretionary award recognising a developing country who has shown leadership and best practice in driving change to facilitate an enabling policy environment for mobile growth.

The 2019 winner will be announced on Sunday 24 February ahead of MWC Barcelona.

2018 Winner
Telecommunications Regulatory Commission – Jordan

Download the official #MWC19 event app